WOULD YOU PLEASE SPONSOR ME TO RAISE MONEY FOR CANCER RESEARCH?

Well, it has been a while since I was last on here, but I am now back from a wonderfully refreshing, awe-inspiring and eventful holiday, and so I am ready to get back on the saddle again.

On the very first day back from our holiday, I saw an advertisement on the TV about a fundraising initiative called Dryathlong. All you need to do to become a Dryathlete is give up alcohol for a month and create your own Justgiving Page in order to raise money for Cancer Research.

Having indulged in copious amounts of both Chardonnay and Pinot Noir this summer, this very much felt like a timely wake up call from Heaven to get healthy but also to sacrifice something in order for others to reap the benefits, and so I made up my mind there and then that this time such a call was for me and not someone else.

I know, most of you must be thinking: “Well, she is hardly committing to climbing Everest or jumping off a plane with a parachute” and you are right to make such a remark, but if you enjoy wine as much as I do, perhaps you can begin to understand that there is nothing easy about committing to give it up. Yes, Cancer Research has suggested this is done for just one month, but I have done this in the past and know the real challenge for me would be to give it up for longer, and so I would like to commit to doing so, but in order to do that, it would be a massive encouragement to me if I am able to raise some much-needed funding for Cancer Research, and this can only be done if you who are reading this are prepared to trust my good will and honesty, and can part with some of your cash to donate to a cause which as we all know has or will touch our life at some point, be it directly or through someone we love and care for.

In the past few years my husband and I have always supported friends and family and even people we hardly knew when we found out that they were prepared to take on a challenge or make a sacrifice in order to improve the quality of life of others, and so I am hoping and trusting that those who have benefitted from our love, support and encouragement will now find it in their heart to return that gesture.

On the top right hand side of this page, you will find the JustGiving prompt you can click on which will take you to my fundraising page where you can donate as little or as much as you want. I have never ever done any fundraising before. I don’t like asking people for anything, and so I feel a mixture of excitement and also apprehension as this is one of those instances when you find out who really believes in you and cares for you enough to part with their hard earnt cash. It doesn’t have to be much at all, but the simple act of giving lets you know that those people are willing to encourage you in whatever you are trying to achieve.

To those who answer this call, thank you from the very depths of my heart.

Mercedes

Leave a Reply

