THE DRAGON AND THE KNIGHT: WHOM SHALL YOU SERVE?

Some of my ramblings below as a result of turning on my tablet on the Google Search page with the following image on St. George’s Day, 23rd of April

St George's Day - 23rd April

St George’s Day – 23rd April

There is something wonderfully poignant, emblematic and foreboding in that image. It just struck me as I look at it more and more, how it reveals itself as a metaphor of Richard Armitage’s journey as an actor, indeed of the very journey we all humans embark on from the moment we are born: now the villain, then the hero; now the dragon, then the knight; now the psychopath, then the pilgrim; a life driven by the powers of hell as a result of the mental turmoil and deep scarring of wounds past or bad choices made by others, but then a holy journey of redemption or pilgrimage inspired and driven by nobility, honour and faith. And so our life goes on as Good and Evil rage within our soul in a fierce battle which never ends until one or the other is victorious, commands our spirit and claims our destiny.

I get the attraction, the appeal of wanting to be an actor. One gets to experience and live through all the things which we may be too scared or perhaps too sensible to not engage with in real life. Acting gives one the opportunity to love too much or love too little; to let our heart feel with abandon until it wants to explode but without really surrendering any part of ourselves in the process; to risk too much without risking anything; to find out what the consequences of a bad choice are without really paying the price; to choose evil instead of good without really entering into hell; to gain honour, fame and a place in history without really sacrificing every single thing that is dear to you in order to get there and claim your prize. That image of St George and the dragon is foreboding because in life many of us like to behave like actors and serve two masters, but the truth is nobody can live like that without paying the price. We can pretend this world is a stage and that we are all actors on it, but eventually we must all make the choice of whom shall we serve, whom shall we follow: the dragon or the knight?

6 thoughts on “THE DRAGON AND THE KNIGHT: WHOM SHALL YOU SERVE?

    • I am afraid I lack the imagination required and as soon as I put pen to paper or hand to keyboard all that I can think off is personal reflections, autobiographical or stuff along those lines. Would love to write fiction, but I always fear the real me and my own circumstances would come through and be too obvious for everyone to recognise. I am fine with that but it would not be fair on those whose lives are affected and intertwined with mine specially those really close to me.

    • Thank you so much for visiting my site again and kindly leaving a comment. My writing is primarily therapeutic and a let out valve, but ultimately it is encouraging to know that others read it too and enjoy it. Bless you!

  1. As always you leave me with much to think over. I really do like your style and imagination and how well thought out your writing is. It makes me look inward, which I normally do not do.

Leave a Reply

