SPIRITUAL SHORTCUTS DON’T CUT IT WITH GOD, BECAUSE THERE AREN’T ANY

Feeding on others’ spiritual disciplines will only turn us into ineffective, stagnated, hollow Christians, broken wells, because that food is coming from the mouth of man and not the Lord himself.  Do you have spiritual sweat on your face from training daily in abiding in the word of God, being in His presence, serving others, etc or do you lazily invest hours in the day reading and feeding from the fruit produced in others through their own disciplines?

I recently engaged in a debate in a pastor’s blog as to whether Facebook was breaking up marriages. My take on that particular issue was that any social media which instead of being used for the glory of God is used to exalt ourselves, our churches or our ministries, will in the end bring about sin and much heartache.  I gave as an example the hundreds, if not thousands of pastors and Christian leaders who have turned their sites, church websites and churches into fan clubs.  Yes, drawing the crowds in in the name of Jesus is a lofty thing indeed, but when the crowds actually get there, who do we find at the center of their worship and admiration? 9 times out of 10, it is the pastor himself or leaders whom others are following.  The light of Christ shines for its absence.  There is so much personal stuff shared on these public arenas, so much about me, me and myself,  that if one likes the person at the center of it, before you know it, you are totally hooked to that person’s journey, and you can’t help but invest a lot of your time searching daily for new truths and revelations coming from them, which as we all know should not come from the mouth or pen of man, but the Bible.  We are an idolatrous generation, there is not denying that, and Christianity will continue to be rendered ineffective because even those fighting on the front lines, those encountering the enemy face on, are relying on their own personal heroes’ spiritual disciplines and revelations to fight their own battles.  It does not work like that!  “Get away from me Satan, for I never knew you” Jesus said.   How many of us may hear those words one day? God forgive us, please forgive us for substituting you with manna that doesn’t last, for not coming to you for fresh nourishment each day, for elevating to a pedestal those whom you have sent to equip us and not to become the object of our veneration.

For quite some time now I have been weary of being that person who is so caught up in finding out what others are up to, what others think of me, what they are hearing from God, that I cease to go to the source itself which can quench my thirst and provide me sustenance daily for the challenges of the Christian journey.  However, the other day as I was leaving a comment on this pastor’s blog, God flipped the coin and showed me what layed on the other side.  What if I am one of those people who instead of being a conduit of redemption and grace to others, a path to the Lord himself, I have instead sapped out of people the willingness to seek God directly?  Is it possible that the kind of readers who follow my blog may come here because they are not disciplined enough to abide in God’s word instead?  Is it possible that my blog is a vehicle for people to follow where I am up to spiritually and not to follow Christ and HIS LEAD instead?

Can I just be really honest with you?  I am almost certain today that apart from a handful of avid readers of my blog whom I have followed for a while now and know in the Spirit that they are disciplined spiritually, there are others who arrive here because they are thirsty but do not have enough commitment to Christ to learn from the King himself by making daily time sacrifices and by ensuring some of their daily pass-times and activities are severed.  Do you know how I know that?  Because I am that person.  I am the person that lately has been spending countless hours in the week checking other people’s tweets, blogs, articles, books, you name it, I have done it.  I am that person that faced with the choice of getting up one hour earlier to pray or logging in at my usual time to read someone else’s devotion, I would opt for the easy one.  I am that person that got caught up with the false aura of a Christian Leader with a massive following whose site, books, and life were and continue to be much to do about nothing, certainly much to do about them and their life and their church, but empty of the glory of Christ.  I am that person who has allowed their site to become an Ichabod, because though I continue to write out of a need within to put out what is inside before the pressure gets to me and I go into meltdown, the truth is little of what has been written here in the last few months has birthed out of my time in God’s presence.  As I write that, I continue to feel the burden of conviction upon me and be in awe of God’s grace and patience in my life.  He just never gives up on me and my half-heartedness.  He does not want my works, and praises unless my conviction about His cause is one which is born out of a daily communion with Him, a passionate daily encounter where I declare afresh, anew my commitment, love and dedication to everything He means to me.

It is for this reason that I am stalling my Twitter account and involvement in social media generally.  This is as far as I have come with being so idolatrous.  When I think of the minutes that have turned into hours that have turned into days which I spent on reading other stuff people are writing, reading, learning, teaching, prophesying, I feel sick to the stomach that all along that time should have been given to my Saviour who died for me when He owed me NOTHING, and who continues to seek ME daily because I am precious to Him. Can you just even begin to comprehend that? 

I will not stop the blog, but I will certainly spend much less time on it and write very occasionally, so if you are a regular visitor of this site, do only come back when you feel God called you to do so, do come back because something deep in you is telling you that there is a word meant for you, or a word meant for someone else which should come through you. 

If you believe that God hears our prayers and answers them, though maybe not the way we expected, I would ask you today to pray for me from here on.  I want to be that radical “all or nothing” follower of Christ, who is worthy of such a name.  I don’t want to settle for second best.  I want the real thing.  I want a life which is not summed up by others as someone who could write well, share some truths or be prophetic.  I hope that I am not identified, described or summed up by my words, but by my actions.  And I know those actions will only bring glory to God when they stem from a daily communion with Him, so I am going back to the drawing board for a season of personal renovation and refurbishment.  There are still so many things that need to be pruned and refined in me and that can only happen in the secret place, so my dear friends be blessed and don’t forget the Lord, for though we only give Him the crumbs that fall of the table, He is truly the only One who can sustain us and see us through to the end of this most challenging race.

GOD BLESS YOU ALL

WITH MY LOVE AND PRAYERS FOR A RADICAL GENERATION FULL OF THE HOLY SPIRIT WHO ARE NOT CONTENT WITH KEEPING THE GLORY TO THEMSELVES BUT TO DEFLECT IT BACK TO THE ONLY ONE WHO IS TRULY WORTHY.  A GENERATION OF CHRISTIANS THROUGH WHICH THE BOUNDARIES OF DENOMINATION AND HIERARCHICAL ORDER WILL CEASE TO SET BROTHER AGAINST BROTHER AND SISTER AGAINST SISTER, A GENERATION WHICH WILL BRING ABOUT THE UNITY OF THE BODY MIGHTILY WORKING TOGETHER, WITHOUT CLAIMING OWNERSHIP OR BEING TERRITORIAL,  BUT DETERMINED TO KEEP THEIR EYES FIXED ON JESUS AND TO ENSURE THEIR ACTIONS ARE A REFLECTION OF THE SPIRIT’S PRESENCE AND WORK WITHIN THEM.

WATCH THE SPACE, FOR IT IS COMING

4 thoughts on “SPIRITUAL SHORTCUTS DON’T CUT IT WITH GOD, BECAUSE THERE AREN’T ANY

  1. It is written: A woman shall compass a man and create a new thing in the earth (Jer 31:22), the man is Satan(Isa 14:16), the new thing is turning the hearts of the fathers to the children. Satan has deceived the whole world (Rev 12:7), until the heel of time(Gen 3:15) when a woman shall bruise him. Check out the bruising of Satan at http://thegoodtale.wordpress.com please read all the posts to see the whole picture.

    • Thank you very much indeed for your comment.

      I am sorry but I am not a great fan of extracting different verses in scripture to then put them back together in a manner which manipulates the meaning to my personal ends. Though each piece of scripture you quote is true in itself, making up a paragraphs with verses from different books in the Bible is not how God inspired it and so it does not read well for me.

      I will however try and read some of your stuff to get to the bottom of what you are saying.

      Thank you for stopping by.

      God bless you

    • Dear Gloria,

      Thank you very much for your comment. Your statement is indeed so true.

      It is a shame, however, that you never commented before, as I know you have been following this blog for a long time, and decided to leave your nugget of wisdom on the very post where I needed encouragement the most and not to be kicked when I am already down. The word of God tells us that “Wounds from a friend can be trusted” (proverbs 27:6), and so I would like to think that the intent behind your words was to speak the truth in love and that you are not one of these people who lurk behind the scenes observing other people’s journey, highs and lows, but will only intervene with a judgemental attitude and a wish to condemn during the lows, when they feel absolutely confident there is no come back from the person they are trying to “put in their place”.

      Gloria, te traduzco aunque ya se que hablas muy bien ingles. Simplemente comentarte que aunque tu afirmacion es totalmente correcta, me da mucha pena que en todo el tiempo que sabes que he estado escribiendo y teniendo en cuenta que tu me dijiste hace tiempo que mi blog te parecia muy bien y que tenia contenido serio y biblico, no entiendo que me dejes un comentario en el articulo en el cual confieso mi idolatria y mi decision de pasar mucho menos tiempo en Twitter y el blog. El Espiritu Santo ya me ha disciplinado en privado y llevado a un punto de confesion y arrepentimiento. Lo que me hace falta ahora son animos y carino de mis “Hermanos” y “Hermanas” en Cristo.

      Un beso,

      Mertxe

Leave a Reply

