Yes please tell me why. Why is The Church, of all people, not doing what Jesus asked?

A friend of mine sent me this wonderful video today of a 13-year-old boy singing a song, which lyrics and music have been written and composed by himself. The message of this song links perfectly with the content and heart behind my last post. The dream this child speaks of in his song, is the same dream I have been given and I know God has placed it in the hearts of millions, because that is who God is, that is His will for this world and His children living in it.

When people hear this boy sing what he wrote, they are amazed at the genius and the maturity of such a young  person who is able to put a beautiful song together with such a grown up mentality and understanding of how the human race is failing to be humane and compassionate, two of the things which should set us apart from the rest of the animal kingdom.  There is more “humanity” observed sometimes in the care of an animal for its young than the love human beings extend or fail to extend amongst themselves. And yet, when I hear that song, though I can clearly see the boy’s face, all I hear is the voice of Jesus coming through him, the words of Jesus whose heart breaks for His people failing to care, forgive and love unconditionally those whom He deeply cared for.  It is bad that the developed countries at large and those countries with the most powerful economies are not doing much, much more to alleviate the suffering and the hunger of sub-developed nations, to avoid wars which only perpetuate this problem, and to look after the wonderful natural resources and beautiful things God blessed us with on earth.  However, it is The Body of Christ, His Church, who ultimately has been called to be the vessel through which this world can be redeemed from its fallen nature, to bring the spirit of God to those who live in spiritual darkness, to bathe with light the oppressed and the abused as well as to offer repentance, forgiveness and a new life to those who do the abusing, the oppression, to all sinners, to ALL OF US.

I hear that song and I hear Jesus asking why, why is it that His Chosen Ones are wasting valuable time, money, energy, resources and His supernatural power available to us through His Holy Spirit by not giving our all to emptying this world of sorrow, guilt and pain, and by filling it with the hope of a Saviour who will restore all things and all people from glory to glory until the day when He returns again in power and majesty, until the final day.

There is absolutely no excuse whatsoever for a people who claim to be acting in the name of the Lord Jesus, from a group of individuals who claim to be leading the people of God, who abuse that authority, in many instances, which they have been gloriously blessed with from above, and who are so caught up in the growth and success of their own endeavours that they fail to see, or should I say want to see, what the true work of The Church, any church, should be.  Yes, wealthy communities are inundated with Christians who feel called to reach the middle and upper classes who blinded by the comfort of their own lives, have neglected to feed and nurture their spiritual dimension, people who are obsessed with the here and now and will not give the after death a second thought because in their wealth and contentment, there is no notion that one day maybe sooner than they think, they will be no more, and none of what they did or amounted here on earth will aid them in what comes next.  Yes, those people who are stubborn and blinded by pride and a reasonably comfortable life are being reached by the Church today, but what about the ones that Jesus died for, the “scum” of the earth, as some would put it, the ones who are dying, truly dying in front of our very noses, both physically and spiritually dying, and all we care about is amounting yet more money for more fancy programs, outreach events, bigger crowds and bigger buildings? Can we honestly look Jesus in the face and say that those are truly the things we believe He has called us to? I can’t.

Christ is crying out today so loudly through the souls of people like this 13-year-old, a wake up call to all who call themselves HIS, to go out and make disciples yes, but not by filling their heads with fancy notions of the promise of a more comfortable, happy, and peaceful life if they accept Jesus, not by drawing them into our own materialistic societies to then make them a further element which aggravates the problem in the church instead of becoming part of the solution, not by making these lost souls into our own image to then go and make our same mistakes, BUT by breaking through the power of evil and sin in their lives by the power of our own exemplary lives which should be devoted to caring for the needs of others, to self-sacrifice, and note I don’t speak of martyrdom, simply of a life which displays a “living” which is coherent with the wonderful, lofty principles we all shout out from our personal as well as public pulpits.

I know I am making enemies in writing this.  I know some are fed up with hearing me ranting on about the same issues, but Christ did not come into the world to bring peace but a sword, a sword to fight evil. If I am to be a true follower of the Lord Jesus, it is war I am undertaking and not a safe passage from a meaningless life lived only for myself and my own agenda.

“Think not that I have come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.  For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law. And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household.” Matthew 10, 34-36

I have witnessed this malady of complacency, of  “busyness” in the wrong things in my own church for years now, and I know this is currently taking place in hundreds of other churches around the world too.  Can we just not see that if those who do not believe in the Lord Jesus Christ see a lukewarm church which is so caught up in their own agendas that they sit back and let people perish, they sit back whilst half the world kills the other half, they sit back when people are begging for food and shelter right outside their “holy” temples, people are deceived, abused and manipulated by those within the church itself.  If those who do not believe in our Lord see all of that taking place, and His Bride just sits apathetic watching life go by, watching life ebb away, how then can we expect anybody else on this planet to give a dime for anything or anybody else?  Are we going to begin to see the hypocrisy which has taken root deep within our own ranks, so deep, so hidden, so disguised as something good that not one of those with the power to do so are prepared to go against the current, are prepared to lose their status and privileges in order to stand up, be different, carry a cross of suffering, sacrifice and humility with such convicting power, with such purifying splendour that the rest of us will be blinded by its power and drawn to its supernatural ability to finally restore this world to its original state. 

The time is coming to face the music for once and for all.  The world does not need or want a church which is consumed with its own committees, politics, programs and visions. The world does not want or need a bunch of people constantly telling them about Jesus from the comfort of their own homes, churches, offices or social gathering places. The world will only begin to listen and be drawn to Christ, when the Church fulfils its role to GO OUT and make disciples, when we abandon the comfort and safety of our own man-made structures and networks and we begin to deeply care and lead by example the lives of those around us, near and far. The world will only begin to listen when we lay our life down for the life of another.

Dear Lord Jesus, send the fire, the zeal and the passion so that those who know their Shepherd can begin to bring restoration and renewal to a dying world.

In my dream children sing a song of love for every boy and girl
The sky is blue and fields are green and laughter is the language of the world
Then I wake and all I see is a world full of people in need

Tell me why (why) does it have to be like this?
Tell me why (why) is there something I have missed?
Tell me why (why) cos I don’t understand.
When so many need somebody we don’t give a helping hand.
Tell me why?

Everyday I ask myself what will I have to do to be a man?
Do I have to stand and fight to prove to everybody who I am?
Is that what my life is for to waste in a world full of war?

Tell me why (why) does it have to be like this?
Tell me why (why) is there something I have missed?
Tell me why (why) cos I don’t understand.
When so many need somebody we don’t give a helping hand.
Tell me why?

(Children) tell me why?  tell me why?
(Children) tell me why?  tell me why?
(Together) just tell me why, why, why?

Tell me why (why) does it have to be like this?
Tell me why (why) is there something I have missed?
Tell me why (why) cos I don’t understand.
When so many need somebody we don’t give a helping hand.

Tell me why (why, why, does the tiger run)
Tell me why (why why do we shoot the gun)
Tell me why (why, why do we never learn)
Can someone tell us why we let the forest burn?

(Why, why do we say we care)
Tell me why (why, why do we stand and stare)
Tell me why (why, why do the dolphins cry)
Can some one tell us why we let the ocean die?

(Why, why if we’re all the same)
Tell me why (why, why do we pass the blame)
Tell me why (why, why does it never end)
Can some one tell us why we cannot just be friends?

(Why, why do we close our eyes)
Tell me why (why, why do we speak a lie)
Tell me why (why, why do we fight for love)
Could someone tell us why ’cause we don’t understand
Why, why?

4 thoughts on “Yes please tell me why. Why is The Church, of all people, not doing what Jesus asked?

  1. What a powerful message you just gave and it was so beautifully backed up by that young man’s song. I am humbled to my knees with conviction. What else matters but the kingdom of God? All things that are of this world will perish when you die. Only that which is for God’s kingdom will live forever!!

Leave a Reply

