Take courage and begin to claim back what is rightfully yours

For those who regularly read my blog, you must be wondering what I am up to these days as I have not written much recently.  I am currently sailing through some very turbulent waters in my life, due primarily to a health issue.  In the life of a Christian there are seasons of peace and seasons of battle; there are mountain peaks and there are valleys, there is spiritual abundance and there are deserts; there are seasons of service and seasons of rest, seasons of affliction and seasons of healing.  There are periods when we are too strong and busy to listen, during which we need to wait on the Lord for instruction, discernment and guidance, but combined with all these and intermittently there will be times when we will be driven to seek the Lord with such intensity that nothing besides this “seeking out” will matter; when you will thirst for Him and nothing and no one, other than the spirit of the Lord, will quench that thirst. If we are to be disciples of Jesus Christ, it is my understanding that these “seeking out” seasons should be the dominant element in our Christian life, as opposed to the occasional occurrence, because it is only during those seasons that we truly appreciate how desperately we need the Lord; when we come to the revelation of not only who He is but of His power and the mystery of grace, and above all, His unfailing love.

This is a season of battle for me and my family, not just from a health point of view, but because spiritual attack is coming from many different fronts.  The enemy of Christians, Satan, seeks to kill, steal and destroy.  He will attempt to wear us down, attempt after attempt, to various degrees and intensities, to the point where we feel so bewildered and resentful for the pain we are undergoing that we will throw the towel in, we will doubt God and accuse Him for not delivering us from those trials there and then.  The enemy comes to rob us of the joy of our Salvation.  What good is it to a Christian to know that He is saved if his/her life does not display the joy of such good news because their joy has been stolen?  I am being the victim of these attacks at present.   But I will not give up on the one thing that I have witnessed to be consistently true ever since I accepted Jesus Christ into my heart:  the power in God’s word to release spiritual, physical and emotional healing, the power to restore and build, the power for renewal, the power to change, the power to be molded into the image of Christ, the power to make good of what was evil, the power to bring light into the darkness. Regardless of whether what is afflicting my body at present disappears or not, I know all these things to be true.  I also know that the Apostle Paul was afflicted with a thorn in his flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment him which he pleaded with the Lord to take away from him, but His answer was :”My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”, and so I know that the Lord will also use my affliction for his glory.  I also know that God works all things for the good of those who love Him, so whilst I perceive an affliction with my natural eyes, my spiritual eyes see myself as a precious stone which impurities are being burned out in the fire of affliction time and time again and in that, I rejoice and offer praise and thanks to God.  It is by faith that we are healed, and so I am believing that I can and will do ALL THINGS through Christ who strengthens me.

I wanted to use this post to encourage anyone who is facing an illness right now; anyone who is believing the lies of the enemy designed to cast doubt and guilt in your mind.  If that is you, please know that there is a way out, a way forward, a road to victory.  God’s word in Proverbs 4:20-22 says:

“My son (daughter) give attention to my words; incline your ear to my sayings.  Do not let them depart from your eyes; keep them in the midst of your heart; for they are life to those who find them, AND HEALTH TO ALL THEIR FLESH.”

The way to do spiritual battle is to declare the promises that we find in the word of God, to say them out loud and to claim those things which the enemy is trying to steal from us.  If you are facing an illness right now, may I encourage you to declare the following words out loud at least once a day.  This is not something which is worth a try when all else fails.  This is a promise given to us in the Bible which we should claim and gracefully receive.  What good is it to have a form of godliness, if we deny its power?  What good is it knowing who Christ is, if when we experience a trial, our faith fades like  a flower and our doubt denies the immense power of the cross, the very core of what we say we believe? Are we not crucifying the Lord all over again, when we are not prepared to inherit the promises He has made to us?    When we read the book of Mark, we are reminded of how many of Jesus’ miracles were all about restoring physical health to those who were suffering . 

Did Jesus not tell us in John 14: 12-14?

“I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing.  He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.  And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father.  You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”

PRAY WITH ME PLEASE:

Lord, you were pierced for my transgressions, you were crushed for my iniquities, the punishment that brought me peace was upon you, and by your wounds Lord I AM HEALED (Isaiah 53:5)

Lord, all who devour me will be devoured; all my enemies will go into exile.  Those who plunder me will be plundered.  All who make spoil of me, you will despoil.  YOU WILL RESTORE ME TO HEALTH AND HEAL MY WOUNDS. (Jeremiah 30, 16-17)

Lord, when you gave up your life for me on the cross as a ransom, you took up my infirmities and carried my diseases, and so Lord I am using the power that you have bestowed on me through the Holy Spirit to speak to this mountain of sickness and to command it to leave my body in the name of Jesus Christ.  I take authority over this body in the name of Jesus.  I break every power of sickness affecting this body now and I receive afresh the blood of Jesus on my life.

I refuse you Satan. I refuse you sickness.  I will not have you in my body.  I submit myself to God and I resist you devil.  The Lord declared: Resist the devil and he will flee from you, so it is written according to God’s word that you WILL FLEE FROM ME.  I resist you now in the name of Jesus Christ.  You have no authority over me because all authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Jesus (Matthew 28, 18), and I belong to Jesus Christ.  I declare that this body, mind and spirit belong to Jesus, the Anointed one, and his anointing lives in me.

Thank you Jesus that you have already paid for this healing on the cross.   I receive my healing now, by faith, in Jesus’ name.  I am healed by your stripes.  Your grace is indeed sufficient for me. Thank you Jesus. Thank you Father and thank you Holy Spirit.  AMEN

If you wish to use this space to encourage others and share a testimony of Jesus’ healing on your body, mind and/or spirit, I would invite and encourage you to do so.  Your testimony may well be the thread someone else’s healing is hanging by.

3 thoughts on “Take courage and begin to claim back what is rightfully yours

  1. anewcreation, I have seen so much growth in you over the past months. God has been with you through each and every trial, which it seems always come in multiples. Your fait is growing and your understanding of spiritual warfare has been honed through the metal of these trials.

    These things will pass, and you will be much the stronger for it all. God took my second son years ago, and he allowed me to walk with him to the walls of Zion. I was young in body and spirit at the time, but I know my walk was not in my mind.

    It took me many years and many more trials before I fully understood why I had to lose a son, but He has blessed me with two more sons and a daughter since.

    Continue to stand and allow the thunder you feel in the depths of your soul to explode into the atmosphere around you for through it the Holy Spirit will wash away every doubt, fear, and oppression that seeks to war against you now.

    My prayers are constantly with you, even more so, the Holy Spirit is constantly with you.

    I see great things in your future. Through your sharing, seeds of blessing will sprout and be harvested in an early season.

    Blessings
    Dave
    http://dadtalk.wordpress.com

    • Dear Dave,

      I am truly sorry to hear about the loss of your second son. But through your words I realise that when you overcame that loss, you overcame so much more, and in the pain you also experienced Christ and the cross with a new intensity, a new depth, and a new revelation.

      In many ways, your prayers and your counsel in these last few months have been like those of a Father figure to me, and I am eternally grateful for your ongoing support and encouragement. It never ceases to amaze me how in every trial God surrounds me with “his wings” and His love which manifests itself through the prayers, support, encouragement, counsel and love of people like yourself.

      May God bless you. May your relationship with Him go even deeper. May you continue to bless others mightily as you have blessed me over all this time with your wonderful spirit and personal testimony.

      With love,

      anewcreation

  2. The winner of any spiritual battle is the one who stays on the battlefield longer than her (or his) foe. So, make up your mind to stand, even when it looks impossible or hope seems gone.

Leave a Reply

