When the Gethsemane moments come, does your attitude resemble that of Jesus?

I often ponder on this passage of the bible: “The Gethsemane moment”.  There are many times in the life of a Christian when challenges and trials face us, and we can either succumb to the fear and lose our faith and trust in God or we can welcome the pain, the hurt and the uncertainty of the future with open arms in the knowledge that it is all in God’s hand anyway.  We can refuse to take the road less travelled and stick to what feels familiar and comfortable or we can embrace our challenging circumstances and the certainty of pain and sorrow just as Jesus did, because as Christians we know that it is in the valleys that we experience the love of the Father more deeply and in a more intimate way, and because we recognise that it is walking through the valley of the shadow of death that God can shape and mold us into His image.

When the Gethsemane moments come into your life, do you agonize or do you embrace them?  Do you resent God or do you fully understand and accept Jesus’ words when He said:  “For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it”.  Matthew 16, 25

 

2 thoughts on “When the Gethsemane moments come, does your attitude resemble that of Jesus?

  1. @brewster

    Thank you very much for your comment and for visiting my site.

    It is my desire and my prayer that during the Gethsemane moments in my life I am able to not be discouraged by the “contents of the cup”, but I place all my energy and focus instead on what God is able to do in me and through me when I drink that content gracefully and joyfully.

    God bless you

Leave a Reply

