Ungrateful hearts will never know what "Abundant" life really is

Send some rain, would You send some rain?
Cause the earth is dry and needs to drink again
And the sun is high and we are sinking in the shade
Would You send a cloud, thunder long and loud?
Let the sky grow black and send some mercy down
Surely You can see that we are thirsty and afraid
But maybe not, not today
Maybe You’ll provide in other ways
And if that’s the case …

We’ll give thanks to You with gratitude
For lessons learned in how to thirst for You
How to bless the very sun that warms our face
If You never send us rain

Daily bread, give us daily bread
Bless our bodies, keep our children fed
Fill our cups, then fill them up again tonight
Wrap us up and warm us through
Tucked away beneath our sturdy roofs
Let us slumber safe from danger’s view this time
Or maybe not, not today
Maybe You’ll provide in other ways
And if that’s the case…

We’ll give thanks to You with gratitude
A lesson learned to hunger after You
That a starry sky offers a better view
If no roof is overhead
And if we never taste that bread

Oh, the differences that often are between
Everything we want and what we really need

So grant us peace, Jesus, grant us peace
Move our hearts to hear a single beat
Between alibis and enemies tonight
Or maybe not, not today
Peace might be another world away
And if that’s the case…

We’ll give thanks to You with gratitude
For lessons learned in how to trust in You
That we are blessed beyond what we could ever dream
In abundance or in need
And if You never grant us peace…

But, Jesus, would You please…

9 thoughts on “Ungrateful hearts will never know what "Abundant" life really is

  1. Thanks for sharing. This is such an inspiring blog. I agree with you… the ungrateful heart never sees blessing because it is blinded by disbelief. I had to admit… I too have an ungrateful heart especially when failures and frustrations weigh me down. But I am grateful that Jesus never gives up on me and helps me to see the light again.

  2. Hi Ruthi,

    Welcome to my blog!

    I am so glad that you found this post encouraging, and I am grateful for your comment and also that the Lord has placed you in my path.

    I woke up this morning feeling like I am going down with a cold or worse, and as I read your comment, all the negativity that was taking place in me because I do not feel well, suddenly lifted and helped me regain perspective again, so THANK YOU for getting in touch.

    God bless you!

    ransom33

    • Hello… visiting again.

      God his own way of reaching out to his people. He has his own way of communicating with us. And yes, He does listen and watching over us. I found my way to your blog simply because he guided me to reach out to you. Keep the faith. God Bless.

      • Dear Ruthi,

        I can totally believe that the Lord has led you to reach out to me. Your comment comes this morning at a time when I very much need encouragement from another Christian.

        My son is being bullied at school and this is in turn making him incredibly frustrated and aggressive at home. He is 8 years old and he is a lovely little boy but the pressure at school is affecting his behaviour.

        Perhaps you would be kind enough to pray for him. His name is Joseba. Also my husband lost his job back in February and he has now set up his own business. We need to make ends meet and so I am starting to teach Spanish from home as well as run the house, look after the kids and help him in the office. I feel so torn in so many directions and I am desperate to spend time with the Lord but I just can’t seem to have enough time in the day. I know these are just excuses but I am really struggling to keep it all going. Thank you for listening.

        Your sister in Christ,

        Mercedes http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

  3. Being grateful is most difficult when we look around at the “things” other people have. If we can force ourself to (intentionally) focus on each and every personal blessing we hold, the results would be an abundance of grattitude.

    One of the saddest things a Christian can do today is too measure their “abundance” in $$$.

  4. “Oh, the differences that often are between
    Everything we want and what we really need”

    Such TRUTH!

    And totally what I needed to read/hear today…..thanks so much for once again being a blessing in my life.

    xox
    *~Michelle~*

  5. Dear Linden,

    Thank you so much for your comment.

    I just wanted to clarify that I am not the writer of that song. I chose to insert the lyrics before the video, because I felt that in order to do justice to the great message contained in those lyrics, I should not add anything to it.

    Peace to you too!

  6. Thank you Ruthi for getting in touch again.

    Thank you for reaching out to me and encouraging me on a morning when I need much encouraging, as I am having some issues at home which are challenging me greatly.

    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

