How to combat the spirit of discouragement

There are times in life when it all gets too much.  Things do not turn out the way you envisaged, friends do not come through for you when you most needed them and attempts to make peace instead of war get thrown back in your face.  If you are not careful you end up engulfed by the spirit of discouragement which with the blink of an eye will tear you down, will deplete your faith and your hope.

I have been in this place before and so having been through that fire and having come out of the other side unharmed, I have been equipped with the right weaponry to fight those forces which seek to steal and destroy the promise that lies deep within me. 

The best way to deter the spirit of discouragement from setting camp in your heart is by giving praise and thanks to God for all the blessings in your life, so here it goes.

Dear Heavenly Father, Lord of Lords and King of Kings, my Redeemer, my Saviour, my bread, my light, my breath, my hope:

Thank you for every breath, every sunrise and sunset, every flower and wonder of nature which I am able to come across each day.

Thank you for choosing me to be the recipient of your mercy and grace.  Thank you that I don’t need to feel your presence right next to me to know that you will never leave me nor forsake me.

Thank you for my family, my home, and those wonderful Godly friendships you have connected me with. 

Thank you for the opportunities you send my way to share with others the love, compassion and forgiveness which I receive from you daily.

Thank you for the highs and for the lows for in every season and every moment you are working out your perfect and holy will into my life.

Thank you that you discipline those whom you love.

Thank you that I need not fear my destiny because of my sin and personal failures, for you have promised me that you will finish the good work you started in me.

Thank you that I am saved by grace and not by works.

Thank you that for every trial you give me sufficient grace to overcome victoriously.

Thank you that although not much in life seems to display constancy, commitment and integrity, you are the same yesterday, today and forever and I can rely on you no matter what else is going on around me.

Thank you for the laughter and the tears, and the release that both bring.

Thank you for every single stage of my life which has led me to where I am today.  Thank you for the good works which you prepared for me in advance and which I never thought I would ever be a part of.

Thank you for those friends who despite all the ugly stuff and past hurts have been able by your grace and mercy to persevere and see past my weaknesses and fears.

Thank you for guiding me in my every choice and making it so clear when activities, attitudes, habits and relationships needed to be severed.

Thank you for everything you have taught me over the years and specially thank you for all the hard times without which I would not have the fighting spirit and the determination to finish the race that I have today.

Thank you for the prayers of the saints who intercede on my behalf and carry my burdens.

Thank you for being the kind of Father who will always love me for being ME, but who will not be content with just leaving me there, and will not rest until the day when I become the person you created me to be.

Thank you for the amazing universe you have created and our beautiful planet earth which you have brought into being with such perfection and balance and which the human race seems determined to destroy.

Thank you for the innocence of children and the wisdom that comes with age. 

Thank you for the miracle of life and the enormous blessing that it is to be able to bring a life into the world, which so many of us often take for granted.

Thank you for marriage and for bringing into my path a person that completes me and who is everything that I am not and so many things I wish I was.  Thank you that because I am with him, and we are one in matrimony I don’t need to crave or seek after those things which I do not have because through our unity we give each other what the other one lacks and are able to sharpen each other like iron to iron.

Thank you for the church you are building and for your promise that the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.  Thank you that when I see apostasy, pride, hypocrisy, personal agendas and lukewarmness amongst your people, I need not worry because I know how the story ends and that the victory is already yours and one day I will share in that victory which I have not earned.

Thank you for the thousands of souls who nobody has ever heard of but who have heard your call and have counted the cost and still given it all up to follow you and fulfill your will.

Thank you for the countless people you have placed in my path who have inspired me to pursue the dream you have placed in me; people who never give up and who always encourage, because they know that without that encouragement they themselves may not have made it, for those who have been forgiven much, love much.

Thank you that you answer my every prayer, not as I would have it or when I would have it, but as you know in your perfect wisdom will bring me the most fruit and grant me the most treasure in heaven.

Thank you that YOU ARE and you dwell in me.  Thank you that I am never alone, although it often may feel that way.

I could go on and on but I have to stop now as it is late and I need to put the kids to bed.  If you are reading this and you would like to add to the list, please feel free to do so by leaving a comment.

6 thoughts on “How to combat the spirit of discouragement

  1. Oh this thank you prayer is so beautiful and just what I needed to read today…..I have been trying to say Thank You instead of Please lately…

    in fact, I think I am going to print it out and keep it close as the perfect reminder.

    beautifully written!

  2. Hi Michelle

    Thank you for your comment. I need to keep a grateful heart and attitude as much as the next person. I am glad my prayer inspired you and that you will use it as a reminder. I hope I do the same!

    Keep up the good work in your site. Your style of writing is so different to mine but I absolutely love it. You crack me up and add that bit of humour in my all too serious approach to life.

    You are a free spirit. God bless you!

  3. How wonderful to read your words here!

    I’ve also found that thanksgiving and praise are the antidote to discouragement. Your words here encourage me greatly.

    • Thank you Tracy for your lovely comment. As I clicked the link to your site I was so surprised to see right at the top of your blog the picture of the deer and the very scripture which God pointed me to yesterday from a completely differrent source. There are various things on your blog page which have spoken to me deeply today so thank you for making contact and for following God’s lead in the way you have designed your blog.

      God bless you!

Leave a Reply

