TAKE GOOD NOTE OF YOUR DREAMS!! GOD MAY BE SPEAKING.

 

 

If you have been reading some of my posts, you have probably realised that I strongly believe God communicates things to us through our dreams.  There is evidence of this happening in the Bible, and I can think of not only my own but friends’ examples also where they have been given a warning through a dream about a circumstance that became a reality later on in their life or the life of another.

But the power of God’s touch into our lives through dreams is not limited to warnings alone, but many other needed elements in the course of one’s life such as: direction, correction, healing, intercession, a word of knowledge, prophecy and revelation of something we cannot see but is there in the spiritual realm, and many other tools which will help us to keep on the right course as we strive to not fall into temptation and to keep fighting the good fight.

It is entirely your choice if you deem that this is a whole load of nonsense. I once thought so too, until one day as a result of a dream where I saw a friend drowning, I got in touch with her, to later on find out she was contemplating suicide. Interestingly, ever since that day I have had many dreams, and I have also taken the trouble to record them, pray about them and ask God for their interpretation. I don’t have answers for many of those dreams. I don’t even remember half of them, but for many of these I have been given enough clues to be able to discern that God’s handprint was all over them, and that they were a helping hand from a loving Father in times of need. Dreams can give you priceless insights, but it is up to each one of us to decide how and when to apply those insights in order to make a positive impact in our lives.

The thing is that only those who love God and who seek to do His will in their lives will be blessed with the ability to see and understand the messages encoded in these dreams. It is a “secret weapon” that God’s children have and one that is aimed to protect and advance our purpose steadfastly despite the ill intentions of the Enemy. We all have dreams, but not all are able to discern exactly what they specifically mean in their lives or the lives of others. I believe dreams from God are like gifts that need to be unwrapped and cherished and it is not until we understand and apply their meaning into our lives that the next gift or blessing arrives.  If we remain stubborn and like a child ignore a father’s wise counsel, we will be left to our own devices, left to make mistakes and to learn from them or maybe not learn at all.

Listen to the apostle Paul’s words in 1 Corinthians 2, 6-16, as he describes the wisdom that emanates from the Spirit of God in us:

We do, however, speak a message of wisdom among the mature, but not the wisdom of this age or of the rulers of this age, who are coming to nothing. No, we speak of God’s secret wisdom, a wisdom that has been hidden and that God destined for our glory before time began. None of the rulers of this age understood it, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.

 However, as it is written:
“No eye has seen

no ear has heard,
no mind has conceived
what God has prepared for those who love Him”

but God has revealed it to us by His Spirit.

The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit within him? In the same way, no one knows the thoughts of God except the spirit of God. We have not received the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us. This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom, but in words taught by the Spirit, expressing spiritual truths in spiritual words. The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned. The spiritual man makes judgements about all things, but he himself is not subject to any man’s judgement:

For who has known the mind of the Lord
that he may instruct him?

But we have the mind of Christ.

I would like to share with you a dream I had last night.  I have had many dreams in the past were animals were present, but this one was the first time where I dreamt of being attacked by a crocodile.  Unusually, I spent the whole of last night dreaming of all sorts of things, many different dreams one after the other, but interestingly, the one that has stuck in my mind at the moment when I first woke up is this one.  I don’t remember much except the crucial moment when my husband and I are minding our own business and completely out of the blue and unexpectedly a crocodile leaps out of the ground and latches onto me with great strength.  As I wrestle with it, I am fully aware of the might of my opponent and its sheer determination to have me as its prey.  I fight as my husband is standing near me watching, and somehow, I miraculously manage to throw this beast off me and to escape unharmed.  All I remember from the dream after that, is becoming aware of the dozens of crocodiles lurking all around us as we hide in this house and seek to protect ourselves from the impending danger outside.

Being the first time I had dreamt of a crocodile, I was intrigued by the meaning of this, specially by the fact that I am able to beat this animal, even when caught totally off guard and unprepared.  A couple of years ago, I attended a course called “The Art of Hearing God” run by Streams Ministries, http://www.streamsministries.com/, and during that course, I was able to purchase a couple of laminated cards with a summary of the meaning of various elements that appear in dreams.  What was my surprise when I looked up the term “alligator/crocodile” and found the following interpretation:

“Dreams of alligators indicate that someone with great influence has launched a verbal attack or spread gossip that is hidden and dangerous.”  Well, I can think of reasons why this would apply in my own personal life, since I often write things on my blog which challenge the status quo within the Body of Christ, the Church, and often may shed some light on the devious plan of the enemy to make the spiritually undiscerning believe and blindly accept that All is well within Christianity today.   This dream interpretation can equally well apply to the situation concerning my husband having recently lost his job, but the fact that I am the one who is attacked by this crocodile and not him, clearly reveals to me that the offensive has been launched against me personally and not him.

In the past I have said many things to our church leadership which have been rejected and for which I have been given the cold shoulder and given also anything which would serve as a substitute for genuine, from the heart “brotherly love”.   I became a nuisance to those who sought complete control over the direction our church should take, and because of that, I was treated with indifference.  As I have said before, indifference is the opposite of love, and not hate.  It is easier to put the lid on a problem by ignoring it in the hope that it will go away, than embark on a soul-searching quest, which may reveal things you are not prepared to hear or accept.  But God will always get right in there in the end and up-root any weed that may have crept in when we have taken our eyes off Jesus and we have tarnished the real reason why we do the things we do in His name.

I thank God that through this dream he has put me on guard from imminent danger and strife.

Here are other interpretations I found to dreaming about a crocodile, which fit equally well with what I am experiencing at the moment:

Crocodiles in dreams in a positive way represent your potential and powers capable to seize luck when it comes. In a negative sense, crocodiles represent hazards lying beneath the surface of a seemingly harmless situation. Seeing a crocodile in the dream is a warning: you are surrounded by evil-minded people. If you got bitten by a crocodile, be careful: a dangerous situation has developed. Killing a crocodile in the dream is a sign that you will be able to defeat a powerful enemy.

As sure as you dream of this creature, you will be deceived by your warmest friends. Enemies will assail you at every turn.

As I trust that God has forewarned me of impending attack and assured me of certain victory through this dream, I remain cautious, watchful and hopeful.

Romans 8:38-39 (47 kb)
8 thoughts on “TAKE GOOD NOTE OF YOUR DREAMS!! GOD MAY BE SPEAKING.

  1. My wife and I have dreams. We write them down and wait for the interpretation. Sometimes the interpretation is given to her; sometimes me. My belief is that the Lord gives dreams to those who will appreciate them and seek Him for the interpretation.

  2. I agree. My wife dreams a lot. I would suggest to continue to use this blog or a journal to write down your dreams. You never know what God might reveal out of them. Thank you for taking the time to comment in my blog. I’ll be continuing to post more soon. I’m in the process of switching over from xanga.

  3. Thank you for reading my blog.

    You have a very strong faith. Bless your heart. Your blog reminded me of Joseph the dreamer story. Very beautiful.

    I hope your friend is okay… God might want you to be a SOUL-WINNER for her. 🙂

    I’ll be checking your blog again (I’ve added you in my BlogRoll)

    Thanks again 🙂 God bless you!

    P.S: Please allow me to grab the Roman8 photo. Ha ha.

  4. I am afraid of dreams. My dreams usually have dark, unexplained events happening in them.
    Maybe I’m a dark person, although I’d like to think I’m not 🙂
    I write poetry, check it out if you want 🙂

    dimanyr.wordpress.com

  5. Thank you for replying, ransom33.

    I think a person’s whole life should be used as a path to discovering yourself, fighting against all the negatives, and accepting and cherishing all the positive things around us. Some people are able to start walking on this path earlier than others. The main thing is to believe in the goodness of the world. This is what I am trying to do.

    All the best to you!

    http://dimanyr.wordpress.com

  6. Thank you Dimanyr.

    I have to differ on that and say that I don’t believe in the “goodness of the world”. I believe that all good things come from God and that man is sinful and imperfect, and because of that, in desperate need of God to help him overcome those weaknesses and shortcomings.

    You only have to look around you today, pick up a newspaper or listen to the radio to realise that so long as man continues to put all his hope in man, we are doomed for failure and disappointment.

    I really appreciate you taking the time to comment on my post.

    Thanks.

    God bless you

    ransom33

  7. Dear Ana,

    Thank you for your lovely comment. I agree with you that God placed that person in my path so that I would “win her soul”. She still continues to play a part in my life, although God has other friends nurturing her needs at present. I know, however, that that dream was given to me for a very good reason, and I did with it what I felt was appropriate. I prayed with and for that person who at the time was in awful bondage to her past traumas, and I believe the Holy Spirit broke and uprooted something that day.

    God is amazing!

    Blessings!

    ransom33

Leave a Reply

