A TASTE OF KINDNESS

“A good character is the best tombstone.  Those who loved you and were helped by you will remember you when forget-me-nots have withered.  Carve your name on hearts, not on marble.”  ~Charles H. Spurgeon

“The only people with whom you should try to get even are those who have helped you.”  ~John E. Southard

“When a person is down in the world, an ounce of help is better than a pound of preaching.” ~ Edward G. Bulwer-Lytton

 

“Life is mostly froth and bubble,
Two things stand like stone,
Kindness in another’s trouble,
Courage in your own.”
~Adam Lindsay Gordon

 

“If every man’s internal care
Were written on his brow,
How many would our pity share
Who raise our envy now?”
~Peitro Metastasio

 

“One man cannot hold another man down in the ditch without remaining down in the ditch with him.”  ~Booker T. Washington

 

“A bit of fragrance always clings to the hand that gives roses.”  ~Chinese Proverb

“Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.”  ~Mark Twain

“The best portion of a good man’s life – his little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and love.”  ~William Wordsworth

 

“You will find as you look back upon your life that the moments when you have truly lived are the moments when you have done things in the spirit of love.” ~ Henry Drummond

 

“No one needs a smile as much as a person who fails to give one.” ~ Unknown

 

“Kindness has converted more sinners than zeal, eloquence, or learning.” ~ Frederick W. Faber

 

“You can have peace of mind only if you forgive rather than judge.” ~ Unknown

 

 

2 thoughts on “A TASTE OF KINDNESS

  1. “No one needs a smile as much as a person who fails to give one.” ~ Unknown

    This one speaks to me. Smiling seems to be something the Lord has been dealing with me about a lot lately. The other day something was really bothering me and I was very upset and I know it was showing on my face; I don’t even remember what I was so upset about. Anyway, I was convicted of it, but it was still a struggle for me, until I came across a lady who smiled and greeted me with a friendly greeting. I really needed that.

    I remember a while back I heard Joni Eareckson Tada say that there are times when, in her daily physical struggle, she will ask God to give her His smile. This has been my prayer, not only for myself, but that God would also give me His smile for someone else who may need it as well.

    Thanks so much for sharing these. May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

