King of The Broken. Is He your King too?

I was just listening to a song by Darlene Zschech called “King of the Broken” which is part of a recently released album called Compassion Art.  As I prayed through that song, I felt this fire in my belly, the fire of God’s righteous anger at me, at us, His children who claim his Son, Jesus Christ, is the King of the Broken, but who continue to live in abundance, in selfishness and self-centered lives full of pride and hidden motives.  I felt greatly challenged by the title of that song and I questioned myself:  If Christ is the King of the Broken, and the evidence we find in the Bible tells us clearly so, and I claim that Christ is the King of my heart, my soul, my life, how come I am not broken, fully broken? Can it be that much work remains to be done in me, before I can reach that spiritual maturity, that Christ-likeness that we often display in word but not so much in deed?  If I am not yet fully broken by the things that break the heart of God, then Christ is not my King but a mere companion in my journey, and if Christ is not King in my life:

WHO, WHAT IS SITTING ON HIS THRONE INSTEAD?

 

Perhaps you may like to reflect on that same question as you listen to this humbling song by Josh Groban.

 

One thought on “King of The Broken. Is He your King too?

  1. You ask a very good question and I pray that we will all be broken and contrite as we seek His will and learn to live as subjects to the King of Kings.

Leave a Reply

