Are you a human being or a human doing?

//www.wri.org">World Resources Institute website</a>

 

Whilst the children and I were waiting for the whistle to go off first thing this morning in the school playground, I was chatting to another mum, a friend, about the vital difference between “DOING CHRIST” and “BEING CHRIST”

Jesus said to us in Matthew 11, 28-30 : “Come to me all of you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” 

How is it then that so many Christians are unable to find that rest for their souls, and walk around as if they were carrying a heavy load?  Our heads end up being pushed down so low by the weight we carry, the commitments we have made, the many different enterprises we undertake in Christ’s name, the goals that we, and not God, have set upon ourselves, that as we have neither the time, nor the ability to lift up our heads and actually notice what is going on around us, we end up neglecting the very people that God has placed in our path, neglecting the very God we claim to be sold out to, and our privileged and unmerited place in Christian Leadership becomes self-serving instead of God-serving.  Can the advice we give others become so utterly ineffective and void of meaning when we are quick to point others in the right direction, but too proud and not humble enough to follow our own advice? Is our life a witness of the peace that surpasses all understanding which we have found through and in Christ or is it instead a false witness whose testimony does not come up to scratch, because the practice does not match the theory?  Do we lead by example as we try to be the light and the salt to a world that has forgotten how to live the here and now because it constantly focuses its sight on the next thing, or are we doing Christ and his legacy the worst of disservices as we preach to others and condemn them with our high morals and ideals which we can’t even put into practice ourselves?

Please watch this video.  It takes a while to get going but contains a fantastic message and a challenging one at that!

 

 

Can you imagine striving all your life, investing all your gifts and talents into so many different directions, and then getting to the end of your time on this earth and finding out that you could have done so much more, you could have had an eternal impact on someone’s life, as opposed to constantly leaving unfinished business, if only you had focused and dedicated your money, energy, time and put your heart and soul to just ONE THING?  Unfortunately, this is a malady that is invading the Body of Christ too, as we constantly race against time to have our finger in so many different pies that in the end, not a single one of them is given 100% of our time, passion, energy and dedication.  We sacrifice the quality for the quantity and this has disastrous results; scattered sheep and easy preys for the wolves which are constantly prowling around.

 

25-27 (31 kb)

If we keep trying to be part of everything happening around us, we lose focus and eventually we crash and burn

 

Are you prepared to get rid of all the clatter that fills your days, your time, your present and your future in order to see clearly the ONE THING God created you for? Are you prepared to “lose your life” so that you can gain it?
15 thoughts on “Are you a human being or a human doing?

  1. Dear mssc54,

    I thank you for reading my blog and for your comment, although I am not entirely sure as to the purpose in you sending it.

    As you know, a blog should serve as a personal space where one can express their thoughts, reflections and impressions with total freedom and honesty, and those who go into another person’s blog do so, because they have chosen to.

    I do not write with the intent of convicting anybody for that task belongs to the Holy Spirit alone. I am merely pondering on various issues which affect my life and the lives of those who have been stirred, inspired or challenged by what I have previously written and because of that, have chosen to go into my blog again and again.

    I do not question whether you or anyone else who reads my blog, walks the walk or the talk. That is between that person and God alone, but I do hope that in reading those things I reflect upon, others can find food for reflection and prayer too.

    God bless you and keep you!

    ransom33

  2. The internet is not the BEST form of communicating. You can not see body language, facial expression or hear tone of speach.

    I did not mean to cause you to become defensife.

    I was merely saying that my family are doers of the Word.

    Jesus said “let the little ones come unto Me.”

    If you would spend time going through some of the posts in my blog you would see that in spite of a tragic loss in February 07 (Google Sgt. Buddy James Hughie) we chose to remain committed to the small children placed in our care by the State.

    We prayed about these little ones and believe that the Lord placed them with us for a purpose… not by hapenstance or coincidence. So after speaking with our three grown daughters and praying about our long term role with these children we determined to adopt them.

    So hopefully by Thanksgiving we should be the proud parents of a four and six year old brother and sister. I will be seventy two years old when our four year old graduates high school.

    So you see, we are doers and we have decided to invest all we have into raising neglected and abused children.

    I suppose maybe after that we can think about retirement… unless the Lord has some additional children for us. 🙂

  3. Thanks mssc54. No need to apologise, really. You are right the internet and email can sometimes land one into trouble.

    What you and your family are doing is a wonderful witness for Christ and his love for humanity, and it certainly illustrates beautifully the point in my post about doing the ONE THING and doing it well. You leave me much food for thought and inspiration and I am very grateful for that.

    I pray that as you bless those children, they will in turn become a blessing to you too and through that, you will all draw even closer to the Lord together.

    God bless you for all you do!

    ransom33

  4. I think I’m a human doing most of the time, but I sure would like to be a human being every once in awhile. I’m confident that our busy-ness is a trick of the Enemy and that he constantly tempts us to choose good things rather than God things as our priorities.

    Maybe a little practice at this would help, “No, I won’t be able to help with that.” “No, I’m not the best person for that committee.” “No, I cannot volunteer in three different ministries.” “No, I’ve already reserved that time for my family.” “No….no…..no…”

  5. Hi Ransom 33,
    I wanted to respond to your comment on my blog post about luck. Really, I wanted to ask you a question because I’m curious about something you said. You said God is all knowing and has a plan from beginning to end. So, let’s consider a child born in certain parts of Africa. Is God’s plan for that child watch his parents murdered and have his arms cut off? I’m not trying to be confrontational, I just want to understand. If you truly belive that everything, every single thing on the planet happens for a good reason, then how do you explain why so many horrible things happen to innocent people? Is that God’s plan for them?
    I’m happy for you that you find peace in believing in God. But I just don’t understand how God can have a plan that is so cruel to so many. If you can give me a logical explanation for this, I will be eternally grateful.
    Thanks for reading my post,
    Best,
    Carol

  6. Dear Carol,

    Don’t apologise for being confrontational. These are all questions I have asked myself in the past too, and I am not one for taking somebody else’s word for something as important as this. My family often confront me with the same question, when they hear me passionately talking to them about how my life has been transformed by the peace, freedom and love I have found in Jesus. We have all been brought up in a very strict Catholic environment where you believe because you are told to believe (no questions asked) and yet, in my early 30s I went through some very painful circumstances and at the moment where the pain was such that I was close to giving up, I had a revelation of who God is and why Jesus came to this world.

    To answer the questions that you have asked me, I have to start from the premise that because of that turning point of revelation in my life, I now believe 100% that the Bible is the word of God to humanity. And in the Bible, we read that “Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known”. 1 Corinthians 13, 12.

    Firstly, I believe that the evil that you are describing, i.e. the African child whose parents have been murdered, is not caused by God but by Satan and his followers. The majority of the horrible things that happen in this world are the result of man’s actions and the Evil that is rampant in our world. Why God who is all-powerful and mighty allows this? I don’t know. It would be foolish and dishonest of me to try and give you a logical explanation when there isn’t one. I believe that God is good, sovereign and mighty because I have faith. Faith by definition is as the word of God tells us in Hebrews 11:1: “Being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see”. Trying to give you a logical explanation of things I have no certainty of because I know them by faith is an impossible task. The very nature of faith is to believe in what you cannot explain.

    No one can possibly fathom the things of God. How could be? God is God and we are a speck in the horizon. I cannot explain His ways and why things happen the way they do, but because of His word in the Bible, we trust in his providence and in his wisdom. I believe God exists by faith, full stop.

    I, like yourself, wonder about pain and suffering in the world. Our church has close contact with some of the children you talk about. A ministry team in our church travels regularly (my husband has been there a couple of times) to Uganda, to comfort and pray for the children soldiers in North Uganda who have been abducted by the Lord’s Resistance Army, brain-washed and trained to kill savagely at a young age after their parents had been murdered and also to minister in Kampala to those who became orphans as a result of their parents dying from aids and other causes. I know only too well the unrest you feel about such cruelties and evil realities. But when I think of the God who made Heaven and Earth, when I look at the good that has come of the “suffering” in my own personal life; when I look at the power to change people’s lives that those who travel in the name of Jesus to remote parts of the world have; when I see the good that comes out of all these awful situations; when I constantly hear that people go through awful, awful stuff and then it is through sharing with others how “they rose through the ashes” and by God’s grace and the power of the Holy Spirit, they turned their lives around and used their own hurt to come alongside others and pull them through the very same dramatic and hurtful experiences, I can’t but know in the deepest part of me that God is in control and that although I do not understand it all and neither I am meant to (otherwise I would be God) all I can do is pray for those who are in such predicaments and trust that one day when Jesus returns, it will all become clear and pain and suffering will cease to exist.

    It was that day that when, like you, I started asking these deep questions, that God started giving me some answers through His word.

    I pray that God will bless you and that as you continue to ponder all these questions, you have a revelation of who He is and the purpose that He has for your life.

    I leave you with a verse in Jeremiah 29:13 “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart”.

    God bless you

    Ransom33

  7. It’s all about One Thing… And this One Thing must be a part of Everything you do… or you’re wasting your (his) time. The message in the video was great. Even Jesus was all about about that One Thing… a pleasing relationship with the Heavenly Father. Thanks for sharing that with me. I will also share it with my readers.

    God Bless!
    jr.b

  8. Ransom33,
    I appreciate your answer. And again I do think it’s beautiful that you find peace and love in your beliefs. I just don’t understand why a belief in God means there has to be “a plan.” For me, God and free will don’t have to be mutually exclusive. We make choices everyday, to do good things or bad or indifferent. The people in your church (and many others without ties to churches) travel to all parts of the world to help those in need. They choose to do this. Others choose to kill and rape and maim. If God had a simple plan laid out for each everyone of us, wouldn’t we all do good? If there are forces of evil at work in the world, don’t we chose whether we give into those forces? (Unless of course we are somehow forced by another person or group of people like the young soldiers you mentioned.) If everyone’s life were predestined, then why bother with any of the choices we’re presented in life? For example, why vote in the election? The outcome is predestined.
    You don’t have to answer these questions, I’m quite sure we’ll never agree on these issues. And I’m already quite clear on my purpose in life.
    But I appreciate you speaking with me.
    Carol

  9. Dear Carol,

    I really appreciate your questions and the fact that you respect where I am coming from and accept me all the same, even if you may not share the same beliefs. This is an area where many Christians fail to display the principles they profess and become judgemental instead of accepting. I have been guilty of this myself, but with God’s help I will overcome the temptation to do so in the future.

    I think in your last comment you provide the answer to your own question. You say, “God and free will don’t have to be mutually exclusive”. I couldn’t agree more. I do believe God is ultimately in control. It would be absurd to think that the will and actions of a human being would overpower or overrule the will and actions of the God who created us in the first place. God in His supremacy and power could easily change the course of our lives and the course of events, if He so wished, but He still allows us the freedom to choose which path we ultimately follow in our own lives.

    Imagine as an example a father and a child at home. The father offers the child two dishes on a table: at one end of the table a plate with a wholesome home-made meal which will nourish the child’s body, give him energy and sustain him for the next few hours, and on the other side of the table, the father places a plate with a chocolate pudding full of sugar and artificial ingredients which looks very appealing to the eye, but as the father informs the child, will provide him with a very short-lived boost of energy and in the long-term damage his teeth and impoverish his diet. The Father knows that because the boy is a child, the chances are he will choose the chocolate pudding. Now, the role of any father is to train the child in the way he should go. Whilst his son is young, the father can have a certain amount of control over the child’s choices, but when that child becomes an adult, the Father lets go and allows the son to make his own choices and deal with the consequences, if any.

    So if this happens in the human relationship between father and son, how much more so between God who is omnipotent, omnipresent and sovereign and us whom he created in his own image? For God to know what a person will choose does however not mean that the person has no freedom to make the choice. It simply means that God knows what the person will choose, like the father who is not forcing the child to go for the chocolate pudding, but knows fully well that of the two choices available, that is the one his son will go for. Yes, we all have choices between doing good for ourselves and others, or doing evil, and we all have sinful tendencies that materialise to various degrees of intensity and frequency. Why do some of us opt to do good and others do evil when God has a plan for all of us and knows exactly which way we will go? For me, it is precisely because He is our Heavenly Father, that in his love, and despite knowing how things will turn out for us, He still allows us the freedom to make our own choices. Why do some children turn out to become adults with integrity and well-rounded personalities and others who are members of the very same family and have been brought up in the same environment and with the same love and care, end up going astray and ruining their lives and the lives of others? Because of free will. We are all God’s children, though! And like the Father who is torn apart by the knowledge that it is time to let go and allow his son to learn from his own mistakes as he has failed to be obedient and follow the father’s loving and wise advice, it must break God’s heart too to see time and time again how so many of His children ignore His instruction through the Bible and go on to lead miserable and self-destructive lives or lives lived through the motions with no real sense of purpose or significance.

    For me, this is at the very core of why I need God and Jesus in my everyday life. We are all constantly faced with decisions and choices we need to make in order to move forward in life, and knowing that God, who is eternal, can see the end of my life from the beginning, encourages me to involve Him (as a child would involve his Father) in every single step of my life. Human nature is by definition flawed and imperfect and I know that without God in my life and the awesome guidance for a life well lived that he provides us in the Bible, I would be at great risk of constantly making the wrong choices and having to live with the consequences. It is totally foolish of man to solely trust in his own judgement and wisdom. We are flawed creatures and there are times when our sinful nature will have a stronger pull in us than what the spirit of God within us is telling us to do. But God is Perfect and when we put our lives in His hands, we are acknowledging that although we appreciate the freedom he has given us to go one way or another, we trust that He knows what is best for us and we seek his guidance, intervention in our life, and his blessing upon it. For me, living any other way is not an option. It just doesn’t make sense. I tried it and I failed!

    I leave you with a wonderful verse in the Bible, which clearly states that although God knows everything and although we still have that free will, like any good father, he will always have our best interests at heart.

    Jeremiah 29, 11-14
    For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord, and will bring you back from captivity.

    God bless you Carol,

    Ransom33

  10. Your words are so true, and I often find myself a human being instead of a human doing. There have been countless times when I find myself thinking of how things will be different in my life in the future, but I never set any particular goals or make a definite plan as to how those changes will come about. Thank you for your comments. They have really caused me to think, and I’m also enjoying the Ian McCormick videos.

  11. Thx ransom for this beautiful post, it’s true , yeah people waste their time on doing many things, we need to give Jesus a part of our time, and one should really pray that jesus leads him in his life, and that i accept that fact, as jesus said , who loses his life for me finds it, and who finds it loses it ,it’s true, and i am sure that the life that jesus wants for each one of us , is going to be the most satisfying and full of success and acheivements life, Jesus gave each one of us a gift, as he said ,some can preache, some can understand, some can heal , some can predict, some can write, all those spiritual talents are going to be used the best, if we ask Jesus to lead us in our lives and that we follow him and trust him, that whatever this life is rich or poor, it’s the one that’s best for us : ) .
    thx again : )

  12. Hey ransom33,
    Thanks for reading my notes. It’s encouraging to find that every once in awhile someone else out there feels the same way as you do. And i took your advice and read over your note and i am really glad i did! I’ve been asking God in prayer recently just for encouragement and I think He might have brought me some through the words that you wrote. So just know that your writing is taken to heart and pray that God will lead you to encourage others as you did me.
    Thanks!
    I’ll make sure to keep my eye out for your page.
    I’ll hear from you soon.

  13. Great post, ransom33! This is something I have been struggling with a lot lately. I am a human “doing”, but I desperately want to be a human being. Thanks for the challenge to simplify and focus on what’s truly important. It’s not easy, but it’s something I’m trying to accomplish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

