Living to tell the tale

 21 (34 kb)

 

 You must have all heard by now the news about Pastor Michael Guglielmucci who deceived many by claiming that he had terminal cancer and that his condition had inspired him to write the worship song “Healer”.

Well, I am not writing here today to excuse what he did or justify it in any way, but I will not judge his actions either, for that responsibility belongs only to God, and who am I to do that when I have so much rubbish to clear in my own backyard?  All sin is SIN in God’s eyes, and unless we repent and with God’s grace change our ways, we are deceiving ourselves and continue on the road to spiritual death and separation from God.  Let those whom God has entrusted with authority to deal with this kind of situation, be the ones to make this man accountable and lead him in the path of repentance and healing.

I am writing this morning, because I was just listening to that song and I was reminded that it should not matter (at least not to the rest of us) whether the circumstances through which this song was claimed to have been written are true or false, but the fact that there is eternal truth in the words it contains:

Healer
– Mike Gulielmucci

(verse)
You hold my every moment
You calm the raging seas
You walk with me through fire
And heal all my disease
I trust in You
I trust in You

(chorus)
I believe You’re my healer
I believe You are all I need
I believe You’re my portion
I believe You’re more than enough for me
Jesus You’re all I need

(bridge)
Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible
Nothing is impossible for You
You hold my world in Your hands

OK, so he lied and deceived.  I am sure he is suffering the consequences of his sin.  Let’s not throw any more dry wood onto the fire.  As Christians, our response to this should be compassion and an attitude of prayer and quiet reflection, as we remember the times when we have erred and in the knowledge of Christ’s sacrifice on the cross and by His grace alone, have been able to repent and accept God’s forgiveness and move on. 

I wanted to use my post, however, as an opportunity for people to comment and share in which ways the lyrics of that song have proved pure, true and life-transforming in their own lives, and in this way, counteract the negative impact that this whole situation and many others currently in the media are having for Christianity right across the world.  Let’s not forget weeks before that, the news about Todd Bentley’s extra-marital affair hit the body of Christ like a cold shower on a winter’s morning.  Another terrible blow to the Christian community at a time when a lot of non-Christians were paying close attention to God’s power and love in action, and many were being transformed beyond recognition by it.  In these last few weeks we have also heard about Christian musician Ray Boltz who has recently announced he is a homosexual.  http://blog.christianitytoday.com/ctliveblog/archives/2008/09/ray_boltz_comes.html

But hey, we are all sinners and will continue to sin.  Some people just happen to be in the front line, and therefore their sins become news and public domain.  That does not mean our sins are any less important.  Yes, these people are in a leadership role within Christian Ministry, and have therefore, a bigger responsibility towards other Christians and non-Christians, but we know through the word of God (Luke 12:48) that to whom much is given, much is expected, so let’s not kid ourselves and become proud by adopting the role of Judge and Executioner.  God is Sovereign, we are not. “Judge not lest ye be judged” (Matt. 7:1).

I would like to encourage others to write with comments about their own spiritual or physical healing, but first, I would like to add that the lyrics to this song have been true in my own life time and time again.  Jesus came and held my hand during a time in my life when I did not have a terminal disease, but could have easily been tipped over the edge of despair, fear and loss of any hope.  Something happened years ago that completely shook up and shattered my world as I knew it.  Never before had I experienced such hurt and at the same time numbness as I did during that time.  For a while, I felt I would never recover from the mental scars that this had caused me.  I was not living at the time but merely surviving.  Years later, I can testify that Jesus has healed me from emotional and mental torment, from rejection, from the jaws of depression and the claws of a paralysing fear to continue living in case I would be hurt again.  Nothing compares to the love, hope, and peace that fills me when I stop what I am doing to spend time in prayer, worship and meditate on the word of God.  When I step out of my world and like a fly on the wall I look at my life from God’s eyes, I am able to see my life for what it really is.  I am reminded that my perspective must never be finite but eternal.  JESUS IS JUST A PRAYER AWAY

If you happen to be reading this post, and you would like to write a comment with your own testimony or account of a time when you felt God pulled you through a challenging set of circumstances, I would encourage you to do so.  There is so much being said against Christianity at present that I feel God calling us into “battle”, into defending or at least standing “proud” on the ground that has already been won on The Cross.  God’s battles, however, are not fought with worldly weapons or by putting down what or who is already beaten.  God’s battles are won by love, compassion, forgiveness, mercy, second and third chances.  Where would so many of us be, had we not been given another chance? 

 

 

PLEASE SEND IN YOUR COMMENTS AND LET US SHOUT

OUT LOUD ABOUT THINGS THAT MATTER

WHEN IT MATTERS

NOW!!!

AND IF YOUR MEMORY NEEDS REFRESHING, CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW, AND AS YOU LISTEN TO THAT SONG, FORGET ABOUT MIKE GUGLIELMUCCI AND QUIETLY REFLECT ON ALL THE THINGS GOD HAS DONE IN YOUR LIFE AND ALL THE BLESSINGS HE HAS SHOWERED UPON YOU, FOR WHEN CHRIST RETURNS, YOU WILL GIVE ACCOUNT OF YOUR OWN JOURNEY AND NOT EVERYONE ELSE’S

http://www.deezer.com/track/1420047

One thought on “Living to tell the tale

  1. Thanks for pointing me this way. To shortly tell the tale, when I was young I was sexually abused and became suicidal. Time and time again I raged against God, I killed off my emotions and I fought to kill myself. One dark night I was vowing to end it all, and in that darkness I saw the light of a passing truck, and in that light I saw the form of an angel. I heard a voice tell me that God wanted my life, not my death.

    It’s been a long journey since that night. I didn’t immediately heal. It’s been fourteen years and there are still moments that I feel like that darkness is still clinging to me. But I know that God loves me and God will turn all of the darkness in my life into light, I know that every ounce of pain I feel can be redeemed, and that in my lifetime I’ll see my own hands be able to do God’s work.

    Not for me, but for the love of my Savior.

    It’s heartbreaking that some people take advantage of the Christian’s natural (and God-given) desire to trust and love, but we shouldn’t kill that trust or end that love just because other people are fallen.

    Jesus wouldn’t want us to turn on our own.

Leave a Reply

