A dream come true!

It has been a pretty dull day today, and as I had some time in my hands, I was able to do a little research and have a quick look through other people’s writings, who are also WordPress bloggers.  Most of the stuff I read was really interesting and encouraged me to continue blogging, but I have to tell you that what really brought home for me the desperate need to counteract the influence of evil in the Internet, was finding entries of a heavily sexual nature under the heading of “religion” in the WordPress blog index.  How they got there, I don’t know, but if something as obscene as the heading I read, can filter through a section in an index which subdivides all blogs under the theme “religion”, this is yet more evidence that we are in a spiritual battle which clearly manifests itself in the natural realm too.

I was so upset when I thought that hundreds of other people who look at that index and choose to click the heading “religion” may end up reading such filth, specially when they did not purposefully go looking for it, but for blogs of a totally different nature and content.  Could it be that it is precisely because these people like myself are seeking to be edified and built up by becoming partakers in somebody else’s personal struggles and successes in their journey with Christ, that we become a threat in the spiritual realm to the thief who comes to kill, steal and destroy; to the evil one who masquerades himself as an angel of light?  What better way to do this than hide under the heading “religion” in a blog index?

Well, the spirit of Christ dwells in me and thousands of others and we have the responsibility and the power through the Holy Spirit to counteract such attacks and to inundate with light those areas that have been infected by the enemy’s darkness.  I would like to attempt to do that by sharing with you a testimony of how God not only does exist, but communicates with us in a myriad of weird and wonderful ways.

Until about two years ago or so I had heard various people telling me that God does speak through dreams to bring us direction, a warning, healing, prophecy and so many other precious things that we all need in our lives and tend to look for in all the wrong places.  I am not one for taking somebody else’s word for issues of this nature and tend to dismiss them until I am convinced about them as a result of my own personal experience.  And so it happened that one night, about a year ago, I had a very dramatic dream where I was a witness to a good friend drowning.  It is difficult to describe how I felt at the time, but I do recall seeing this person struggling for breath and me watching it all happen knowing that I had to do something, but somehow remaining a mere spectator.  In this dream I also saw another two friends who are common to both of us and are very significant in both our spiritual journeys, so I did think that maybe there was something to this dream.   I woke up so shaken up by it though, that my immediate reaction was to try and put it behind me and forget all about it.  God, however, knew different and was going to have none of me running away from this, so the following night I had exactly the same dream and the night after that too.  By the third morning I felt sheer agony about the thought that perhaps this dream was coming as some sort of warning and that me ignoring it, could have awful consequences both for my friend and myself too, as I would not have been able to live with the knowledge of missing the opportunity and duty to help someone when I was aware they were in some sort of danger.

I was absolutely terrified of going to bed and potentially experience for the fourth time what would have made a perfectly good horror movie, so I decided to do what I should have done the very first day I had that dream: pray about it and seek God’s guidance in the matter.  My husband also remained slightly skeptical about the whole thing, but by the third time I had the same dream and seeing the state I was in, dropped all cynicism and fully supported me in the decision I reached to act on what I concluded was a clear warning from God.

I sent my friend a card suggesting that we should meet for a coffee as we had not seen each other for a while.  A couple of days later she phoned me up to say thank you for the card and when I asked her how she was, she replied: “I AM JUST KEEPING MY HEAD ABOVE THE WATER”.  Coincidence that she should have used an expression like that when the very reason for me contacting her was my dream about her drowning?  I don’t think so.  In fact, I know so, as I discovered soon after our telephone conversation the very reason for those particular words.

A few days after our telephone conversation we met up at my house.  I prayed fervently before she arrived as I knew how delicate it can be to share a dream of this nature with someone, and the consequences that it may have if you do share it when you are not meant to.  By the time we sat at my kitchen and started chatting, I was of the mind that I would not speak a word about my dream but simply catch up as friends who have not spoken to each other for a while do.  As she started sharing with me what had gone on since we last saw each other, I was taken aback by the angry expression on her face, the sense of desperation in her eyes, and a manner in her which was most different to the affable, friendly, bubbly personality I was used to.

I soon realised she was in trouble, and although I was terrified to share my dream with her for fear of being rejected, laughed at or simply causing a fear in her that was unjustified, I felt the Holy Spirit telling me to speak the dream out.  As I told her my dream and how I had had it three nights in a row, tears started running down her cheeks and she confessed to having felt suicidal on a couple of occasions in the days prior to meeting up with me.  As I heard her confess this to me and share in detail the reasons for her desperation, an inmense energy started welling up in me and words of encouragement started pouring out of my mouth in an attempt to restore what had obviously been broken in her.

It was a very intense and emotional time together but at the same time, it meant more to me than anything else I had ever done for anybody else before.  I knew that I had been given time with this person for a reason, that every second was precious and that the result of what went on during those two precious hours would have drastic consequences.  It literally was a matter of life or death. 

Due to the circumstances in this friend’s life at the time, she had drifted from church, Christian friends and spirituality, so I knew I was treading very dangerous ground when having heard her plight, I offered to pray for her.  The irony of it being, it was only two years previous to that, my friend knew I even struggled to say AMEN out loud in front of other people.  She knew, therefore, I was being real and there was a lot of emotion and authenticity in what I was trying to do.  I was so nervous I can’t remember what I said as I prayed, although that is often a good sign that the Holy Spirit is leading the prayer and that is not our will and selfish desires that are coming to the fore through our prayers.  At least, that is what I have experienced, and as I said before I don’t tend to go on somebody else’s word when it comes to something as important as prayer.

Well, a few months have gone by now, and I know that my friend not only overcame her depression and adverse circumstances, not to mention the hurt and the scars of a very sorrowful past, but has gone on to achieve great things academically and continues to set herself greater and bigger goals in that area.  She is still not coming to our church but that does not bother me at all.  I know that what we both shared and experienced as a result of that dream, has planted a seed in her heart which will be a lot harder to stop from growing than anything she may have heard in church through somebody else’s testimony. 

My friend was “drowning” and God sent her help.  There is nothing more to say. It is as simple as that.  Start believing in the unbelievable and you will find that NOTHING is impossible for God and if you are willing, He will give you the honour of being used to achieve his Mighty and Wonderful purposes.  Nothing can come even close to the joy of feeling a part of that.

 

Sleep tight and don’t forget to have a journal next to your bed so that you can record the treasures that God unfolds as you sleep.

3 thoughts on “A dream come true!

  1. I watched the video and well, it really lifted me up.

    I’ve been going through an intense battle. It’s like I’ve been through the mill, if satan can’t get me with my own personal issues then he’s attacked me through every relationship. I’ve taken a lot of hits recently only because I’ve started my own blog and have continued to make some positive changes in my own life. And well, as soon as we decided to make positive changes in our lives and when the Lord is about to pour out His blessings on us then satan’s right there to steal, to kill, and to destroy.

    But this is my prayer….

    That the Gates of Heaven are opened wide and I stand in the place of blessings. I thank the Lord for Christ’s shed blood on the cross which covers every generational sin and curse and for this reason I stand in the place of blessing. With faith and obedience David brought down Goliath and with faith and obedience Israel entered the Promised Land. And if God is for me who can stand against me. What we focus on we make room for and what we fear we empower. And I am so thankful that we serve a God whose resources never run out. Amen.

    There can be mirracles, there will be mirracles, the hand of the Lord is not too short that the Lord cannot help in times of need and trouble. This is the time I battle but knowing the battle belongs to the Lord as I simply walk in faith and obedience.

    Thank you for posting that video. I don’t generally listen to or watch secular music and video’s but sometimes the Lord presses it upon my heart to watch and listen. And I’m thankful that I listened to the Lord and watched the video you posted. It seriously is annointed and it’s exactly what I needed to hear and see.

  2. Dear Janey,

    Thank you very much for your comment. I am so glad that the content of that video encouraged you.

    It is wonderful to hear that some positive changes are taking place in your life and it follows that because of the weight, significance and impact of these changes in your life and the life of those you come into contact with, you would feel under intense spiritual attack. Read Hebrews 12, 1-11 and Romans 5, 3-11 and know that God loves you and walks with you through this treacherous, full of traps and thorny path.

    I would like to add, if I may, that one of the blogs that appears in your own blog is of a content that does not line up with biblical truth. I pray that the Holy Spirit will show this to you, and help you review your blog page so that no darkness is allowed to impoverish the wonderful light that is shining through you and your testimony.

    God bless you.

    Your sister in Christ.

Leave a Reply

