Made like this for a reason

It’s official.  I am a blogger! After resisting it for a long time, I have finally succumbed.

The truth is I have been a “blogger at heart” all my life.  It is part of who I am and more importantly, of how God made me.  Since I was a child, I have always had this therapeutic need to put down in writing how I feel and where I am at.  When I became a teenager, other things took priority and I stopped writing, and now, as I am fast approaching my 39th birthday, I realise I have been neglecting a part of me which makes up the majority of the person that I am, and without which, I feel incomplete and my spirit crushed.

Thoughts, ideas and resolutions come and go, but something magical happens when we put them down on paper.   They become imprinted in our hearts and they somehow make us accountable for how we think, act and speak thereon. 

As I opened up my bible this morning, I read about the story of Peter healing the crippled beggar in Acts 3, 7-10 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?book_id=51&chapter=3&version=31, and as I pondered on what it is that I am hoping to achieve with this blog, I felt God giving me the answer right there on a plate.  When asked for money by the crippled beggar at the temple gate, Peter replied: “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I have, I give you.  In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk”.

 Well, I have recently discovered that although I thought I knew a fair bit about God and what lies in his heart, I know nought, or at least a very minuscule amount.  Like Peter, I have not got any gold, silver, precious stones or pearls of wisdom to offer you in this blog, far from it, but what I do have is the Spirit of Christ living in me, and by faith I know that in the same way that I have benefitted tremendously by reading countless blogs from friends and complete and utter strangers, by the grace of God my words might touch somebody’s heart or simply echo in someone’s spirit and bring to that someone therefore, the fruits of that Spirit without which, life in this world can never be fully lived: forgiveness, the ability to love friends and enemies alike unconditionally, the freedom to be who your spirit is crying out to be, an unwavering faith and ever-lasting hope.

If on the other hand, this blog turns out to be more of a diary type of piece of writing, where I end up mainly talking to myself and reflecting on my life very much as when we look ourselves in the mirror, then, all is not lost, for I know that it will still be a useful exercise and a valid one too.  It is often during those times of self-examination and deep reflection on our very own behaviour, that the spirit of God finds its way into our hearts, and gently and lovingly points out those things, people, and attitudes which are hindering our lives and those which/who add quality and a sense of purpose to them.

Til the next time.

2 thoughts on “Made like this for a reason

  1. Thank you. You are very kind.I do however struggle with discernment of thoughts as much as the next person and when I think I’ve got it all sussed in one area, God turns all my wisdom (or lack of it, as it normally turns out) on its head. I now know that when that happens, although it is most disconcerting to one’s walk at the time, it’s a very valuable and necessary step in the long term.

    xx

  2. It’s interesting how the Lord leads us in what He desires us to do. Your statement …
    “by the grace of God my words might touch somebody’s heart”
    … is pretty much what I believe the Lord has spoken to me about regarding the blog He’s given me. I didn’t even know what blogging was until either earlier this year or late last year sometime (I can’t remember exactly). My son told me what it was, and he’s the one who got me started blogging. Although I really believe God used my son as a way to get me started, especially since I just recently got connected to the internet at home; and God used my brother to get me connected, because I was very hesitant.

    Amazing how God works!

    I love your testimony on your “about” page through that song; it’s a great song! I pray God will continue to bless you and use your blog in incredible ways.

    By the way, that’s a good picture. I don’t know where you live, but I love the background behind you! Like the message on your shirt too! Take care.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

